Public Speaking 2017


Without communication skills, making your way forward in the world would indeed be difficult. Communication is at the heart of all we do, and yet, speaking in public is one of the things people dread the most! Despite this, several students battled with their academic deadlines and overcame their fears to take part in our annual public speaking competition.

The College hosted its 7th Annual Public Speaking Awards on Tuesday 10th October. Students competed in six year divisions and the night culminated in the presentation of the John Hurley Shield for Public Speaking to those students who achieved first place in each division.

Adjudication was a difficult task given the high quality of all the speeches. As in other years, adjudication teams for each year level consisted of a College staff member and a community judge. This year we were fortunate to have six past students return to adjudicate –Lachlan Kadell, Alex Plummer, Sarah Kemp, Frank Lin, Tom Gilmore, Fransiska Bekti. Staff members given the difficult task of adjudication were Nicole Jones, Liam Lunney, Lauren Green, Chloe Kuwert, Sarah Wilkinson, Paul Earley and Anthony Murnane.

Well done to all our speakers and thank you to our large audience of parents, family members, staff and interested students. Special mention must go to Ellen Hawkins who has competed in every public speaking competition since her arrival at the College as a nervous Year 8 student. The skills developed by Ellen and, indeed, all the students competing, will hold them in good stead for their post school plans of University, TAFE and career.

Year 7: Liam Damons (1st), Zara Gavarra (2nd), Laura McKitrick (Highly Commended).

Year 8: Chyna Vilaysack (1st), Georgia Bradley (2nd),  Sophie Battese (Highly Commended).

Year 9: Hayden Boyle (1st), Elena Josipovic (2nd), Luci Jappinen (Highly Commended).

Year 10: Riya Prasad (1st), Daniel Hartley (2nd), Ibtisam Aslam (Highly Commended).

Year 11: Abby Ward (1st), Lisa Damons (2nd), Taylor-Rose Hull (Highly Commended).

Year 12: Bridie McCarrey (1st), Ellen Hawkins (2nd), Phoenix Wilkinson (Highly Commended). ​