Primary Cluster Competition 2018


The Primary Cluster Competition is in its eighth year of operation. The program began at St Thomas More College in 2010 with just four primary schools. We all recognise the importance of sport and physical activity in the lives of young people and this competition provides young people the opportunity to mix and play sport with students from other schools.  While we recognise the value of the sporting competition, it is also important to recognise the value of building relationships between the schools. The competition has been built on the shared understanding that the primary purpose of this competition is participation.

The Primary Cluster is part of the major practical assessment for the Y​ear 11 Sport and Recreation students who are working towards their Certificate III in Sport and Recreation. Our students facilitate the event and complete tasks such as organising draws, creating tournament ladders, managing venues, refereeing and setting up/packing up venues. There are four sports at three different venues - OZTAG is held at Brittain Park, Soccer is held at the Griffith University Nathan Fields and Netball and Volleyball are held at St Thomas More College. This year there are 118 teams participating from 8 different primary schools, with 1106 participants altogether.

As with previous years there are two divisions in the competition:

Junior: Years - 3/4

Senior: Year - 5/6

While the philosophy behind the competition is about maximising participation there is also a winner at the end of the day. Our competition culminates with a day of finals and the awarding of trophies to the successful teams.​

 Round 1: Friday 27th April
Round 2: Friday 4th May
Round 3: Friday 11th May
Round 4: Friday 25th May
Round 5: Friday 1st June
Round 6: Friday 8th June
Finals: Friday 15th June

​Game Times 2018
Game 1 (juniors): 12:15pm
Game 2 (juniors/seniors): 12:55pm
Game 3 (seniors): 1:35pm